Tag Archives: brooklyn

KEEPAWAY – Glasslands 9/23/11

21 Sep


19 Aug

Drunken Sufis have released a digital full length via bandcamp called “Death Cult Summer Camp”.  This band is a self-described “conspiracy, prog-punk” band with song title’s like “Bohemian Grove” to prove it.  Just check out the cover art with all of it’s symbology and you’ll notice the references. This band is comprised of guys from Sri, Exit Clov, Jukebox the Ghost and Milly Beau.  This record was tracked at Headgear last summer over the July 4th weekend.  Freemasons, Illuminati, Knights Templar and Bilderbergers are welcome to listen and download!  This shit is bombastic and craaazy!


TEACHERS – Debut Show at Glasslands

10 Aug

Teachers finally play their debut show at Glasslands on Saturday, August 13, 2011 at 8:30pm.  Get your tickets here. Teachers is the project of Ben Bronfman, who’s an all-around renaissance man.  Ben runs a sustainable record label called Green Owl and dabbles in renewable energy with Global Thermostat, but you might know him from his former band, The Exit or his recent production contributions on Kanye West’s “Monster” track.

Teachers spent a lot of time at Headgear tracking with Alex Lipsen.  Listen to “Gold” below.


2 Aug

WHALE BELLY gives an interview and video performance for BreakThru Radio TV.  These guys make raucous, folk twinged rock music that’s fun.


19 Jul

You know that band Weezer?  Well, you can go on a cruise and watch them perform along with a bunch of other bands.  The reason I’m writing this blog is because our friends in Keepaway are playing on the cruise.  A while back, Keepaway tracked at Headgear with Kyle Boyd for their Baby Style EP and also performed some songs live, at Headgear for freqControl.com.


18 Jul

The talented Alice Cohen can’t stop making these awesome collage-y animated videos.  The above video is for Majical Cloudz (Arbutus Records), for their song “Dream World”.  Alice has also made videos for Coasting, Ducktails, K-Holes, and Big Gold Belt.

You may or may not know that Alice is a long-time musician who’s been in such bands as The Vels, Die Monster Die, and Castles. She’s currently finishing up the tracking portion of her upcoming full-length with some help from Jackie Lin Werner.  While you’re waiting for her next release, check out the video of her song “Memories of Glaciers” from her Walking Up Walls release from Olde English Spelling Bee.

While you’re at it, check out this write-up on the Chocolate Bobka blog about her song and video “Black Pepper”.  Engineer Chris Moore (TV on the Radio, Au Revoir Simone) mixed this record at Headgear a few years back.

MALE BONDING “Endless Now” Album Trailer

12 Jul

Watch this video trailer for the upcoming release of Male Bonding’s album, “Endless Now”.  It’s out on 8/30/11 from Sub Pop.  You’ll catch some footage of the band tracking with John Agnello before they came down to mix at Headgear.


11 Jul

Check out Raccoon Fighter’s latest music video for their song “Dear Big City” from the upcoming 7″ called Butcherette.  You can pre-order the 7″ at Bandcamp.  Snag the free download of the single “I’m an Animal, You’re an Animal” below while you’re at it.

KURT VILE “Baby’s Arms”

7 Jul

This is Kurt Vile’s latest music video directed by Todd Cole, for the song “Baby’s Arms” off of Smoke Ring for My Halo released by Matador.  The video was shot entirely on the Windows phone.

Below is the Behind the Scenes footage of the video shoot with director Todd Cole.


28 Jun

Watch Phosphorescent perform live at Bonaroo.  While you’re at it, check them out performing for freqControl at Headgear below.